Facebook is getting rid of secret and closed groups — just the privacy settings in an attempt to simplify its privacy settings for groups and reduce four options to two: public and private.
Groups product manager Jordan Davis said in a Newsroom post “Having two privacy settings—public and private—will help make it clearer about who can find the group and see the members and posts that are part of it. We’ve also heard that most people prefer to use the terms ‘public’ and ‘private’ to describe the privacy settings of groups they belong to.”
By default, groups that had been secret will now be private and hidden, and groups that were closed will now be private and visible. Public groups will remain public and visible.
Group administrators can find the new controls in their group settings. Factors that the social network weighs include whether the group’s name or description contains hate speech or other forbidden content, as well as the actions of admins and moderators.